The First Week

I feel like I’ve been in Moscow for a year! And that’s a good thing.  This city is amazing. Every day on my 30 minute walk to school I see something new, something that I check off in my brain that I have to make time for on my day off.  I’ve decided that it is okay to finally take different routes to school.  It is basically a straight shot but, we always walk on the main street…today I will take a side street, stop by the fruit stand, and have so many new adventures!

We’ve only had 4 days of full classes but already we’ve had about 12 hours of acting.  3 hours everyday.  They are the most exhilarating 3 hours of my day!  At the start of class we perform a group etude (improvisation) and then play various theatre games to help with concentration, growth as an ensemble, trust and attention.  We are encouraged to move as one.  If we are asked to stand–we have to do it all at once. We are asked to move our chairs–we must do it together…and here’s the real kicker, we have to do it silently. Not just without talking but the chair must not make any noise. It is one of the more difficult aspects of class but  does more to help me with connecting and concentration than any of the other exercises we have done so far.

We had our first Ballet class on Monday…ya’ll don’t even KNOW! My legs will never not be sore while I’m here.  The teacher had my leg stretched behind my head…my legs don’t belong there….they do not.  We didn’t even move much, just a little bar work but, I have never sweat so much in my life, and that is saying something.  My goal for ballet is to be able to do the splits by the time I leave here, I think there is more than a possibility of me having it by the end of October!

Stage movement is a really interesting class as well.  I really had a lot of time in that class to get to know my body.  we spent several minutes on each section just stretching and doing various exercises to become aware of ourselves.  I thought I would have limitations, but the professor told us “your body will want to stop and be lazy…you must have the will to tell it not to.”  It is going to take a long time for me to be able to tell it not to, but as soon as he said it I could feel a change inside from wanting to just stop and die to wanting to continue forever!  The last exercise of the class was a jumping exercise.. he told us how he wanted to jump and then we did it all together! He covered his ears in pain and told us to stop!!! “Do it silently.  Live in the air! Live in the air and not on the ground” ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm what?!  I challenge you (it is not that big of a challenge when you are actively listening to your body and telling it what to do) to jump the air, while trying to kick your hindquarters and land softly on the ground with no noise…and keep jumping.  Do all your thinking in the air. live there! make that your home.  you should only be on the ground for a split second before your back in your home. DO IT NOW!

There is so much I can’t put into words yet! but rest assured I will try to share with you as much as I can, and to blog whenever possible…but if I’m not in class I am either sleeping or walking to class!

I love you all!

Blue Skies,

Michael

Leave a Reply

