Ramblings on a Evening

Before I get sidetracked, I want to inform everyone that I ate sweet corn ice cream today. If you haven’t heard, I am from Iowa. And being from Iowa I had to try it, because what is Iowa known for if not for the corn. Or hogs, Cloris Leachman, Ashton Kutcher, the electronic digital computer, field of dreams, the bridges of Madison County, Glenn Miller, or civil rights activism. I could go on, but most of the time it is only me interested in these facts about Iowa.

I had dinner today with a man whose hard work and charitable foundation have helped support me through college and life in general. Whenever I’m with him I feel challenged to be my very best. Not in a holy crap I’m totally screwed kind of way but in a this man cares and wants me to try my hardest and be the best at whatever I do kind of way. During the conversation about career and life (and on the drive home) I found myself wondering how I’m going to achieve everything we talked about. I have no aspirations to be the wealthiest actor or the most famous. I don’t want a tabloid presence wherever I go capturing every mistake I make and printing it in their headlines. What I do want is to live a life worth living. One full of great friends. A wonderful family and crazy, amazing, spectacular creation. I have been really interested in found space theatre production for a while now and would love to make a career out of creating wonderful theatre from nothing, anywhere, anytime. I don’t know how that’s going to happen yet or how I could possibly make money doing that but, my foray into found space theatre last year with Madness of Lady Bright by Lanford Wilson has sparked this wild desire in me to just go for it and create.

The beauty of this kind of creation process is that even the happy accidents or mistakes can turn into memorable moments of theatre. In a traditional theatre setting there is a relative amount of comfort in knowing how any given performance (after opening night) is going to turn out. Sure there maybe any number of instances where a performance might derail but for the most part it is the way it is. In found space it’s always different. There are so many possibilities with one script that every night of performance might be totally different and unique. So different that they probably won’t ever be repeated. Found Space Theatre is truly a once in a life time experience.

Thanks for reading

I am breaking away from my Moscow Art Theatre School reading list this week and just focussing on my Next to Normal lines. Wish me luck…

PS the sweet corn ice cream was not a win.

Leave a Reply

